Valentine’s Day is not heterosexual in Japan/ Herbalism

11 thoughts on “Valentine’s Day is not heterosexual in Japan/ Herbalism

  1. You can get nettle tea in bulk, which is grown in Eastern Europe. I bought some in Australia recently when I was there visiting my daughter. It was cheap: a huge 1 pound bag for around $20. I made a quart of it every day as a remedy for gout. It works! I save the brewed leaves and mix them in with soup for their nourishing qualities. Yes, once is enough to get stung by fresh nettles! ૮(ꂧ᷆⺫ꂧ᷇)ა

    • ooo I didn’t know it was good for gout, or what it was used to treat. I just used it as an all-round vitamin plant incorporated into my diet when I can get hold of it. Might make myself some nettle tea right now. I think they’ve mixed it with peppermint to give it some flavour. Did the nettle tea you make taste good, or bitter?

      • I enjoy the flavour, but then I enjoy all the various flavours of herbs. I drink it straight. Wouldn’t say bitter, but not sweet. It just tastes nourishing. When it’s cool, I chug the whole mug.

  2. Cherryblossom,

    I think your American friend was just typical city folk. They are knowledgeable about life in the big city, but are helpless once outside an urban area, much to the amusement of those of us who live in the country. I was just looking at the stats here on how many urban-dwellers we have in the U.S. and it’s about 80%! We do, in fact, have nettles all over the place in the U.S., just not in the concrete jungles, which is where an increasing number of Americans live.

    I have a big gallon bag of dried nettles in my cabinet, which I throw into soup. It’s an iodine herb and good for anyone who is worried about the effects of radiation.

    Fabulous videos you’ve been doing – all of them. I’ve been enjoying them very much. Thank you!

    • Oh interesting about it being an iodine herb, as yes, I am concerned about the radiation coming from Fukushima. I also heard chlorella is good for this, but it’s made in the sea in Japan, I think, which is also irradiated right now. So nettles from America or Europe would be a better bet.
      I’m beginning to understand how much nature there actually is in America, and how much of it is similar to Europe. Well, it is a vast expanse of space, so it’s likely that in some places there are some similarities with Europe. I also heard that sage grows wild in certain parts of America, which is amazing. Where I grew up there were wild chives and mint, but not sage.
      Glad you’re enjoying the videos 🙂

      • Yes, many plants are similar, which is why old herbals like Mrs. Grieves are very useful here. We have a lot of information from the Indians, too, both north and south of the Rio Grande. There are cures here for all kinds of things if people would only get off the white man’s medicine and look at the world around them.

        Not much of that information survived except that handed down by word of mouth, but some things are just known here – out in the woods, I mean.

        We didn’t just have the Puritans on the east coast killing women suspected of witchcraft, we had our own inquisition in the French and Spanish/Mexican former territories. They killed a lot of knowledgeable men and women (in fires – they love fires) and drove healing and witchcraft (one and the same from a European perspective) underground. Also, some Indians weren’t too kind to women who wanted to live apart and who had special abilities, in some cases. At least, this was the case with the Cherokee. Some other things seemed to be going on in tribes that had had less European contact, though.

        The Indians had not only their own language, including a written language, but they had their own methods of classifying plants, which the white man says looks like nonsense. But, they knew why types of herbs, based on their appearance, were good for certain purposes. The Catholic Church allowed one of their priests to preserve that information and so, the oldest known manuscript on herbs here in the U.S. is one called the Badianus, after the man who wrote it all down. But, healing is and always has been the special province of women. This has not changed in some places where people have very long ancestral ties to the land.

        One of the best anti-radiation remedies I know of is dulse kelp. I take it every day. Also, burnt toast with butter – yes, because of the carbon in the burnt part of the toast. Sprinkle it with a little cinnamon and raw honey and it’s all the better. This was a remedy given by my own witch doctor whenever you feel tired, especially on rainy days. It has to do with the radiation levels being a little higher on those days as the atmosphere lowers closer to the earth’s surface.

      • The Indians had and still have many different languages, of course. I said “language” in my post like it was one thing. But, the languages are both similar in some ways and very different in others. I, also, suspect we had much earlier contact with Europeans here than is in recorded history, at least, all the way up the eastern coast line. The reason I speculate about this is because of language similarities between the Indians and the Germans and Scandinavians.

        The original language of the Badianus was Aztec. It was recorded in Latin, of course.

      • Re: Sage. There are lots of different types of sage, which grow wild all over the U.S. and Mexico. The white sage that is very popular right now comes from the western coastal areas. But, there are many different types of sage with similar properties.

        I saw your YT discussion with someone about herbs for witchcraft vs. healing – it’s the same thing. If you look at the healing properties of herbs and look at how they are used ceremonially, you see they are used for the same purpose. Diseases, including something like a fungus or a virus, does not JUST exist in the physical world and neither do we – and neither does anything else. I think understanding that is key.

  3. It’s, also, interesting to hear about and see an elder flower product. People here in my region of the U.S. do gather elderberries and make wine, syrup, and preserves (like jelly and jam) out of them. But, I’ve never heard of anyone doing anything with the flower. The elderberry is supposed to be good for staving off colds and flu, but I couldn’t say for sure if it works. I have it on hand, but mostly I just like the taste. You’re supposed to take a little bit, each day throughout the winter. But, if I open up a jar or bottle of it, I just can’t keep out of it long enough to say if it has any effect. I have other methods for preventing cold and flu and I haven’t had either in maybe 20 years.

    • I think it’s interesting that I happened to buy the elderflower product while I was feeling a bit under the weather. I’m not much of an impulsive shopper, so I normally would just pass it by. But they had a little tester taster section and I drank some and thought it tasted great, ideal for my cold.

      • I was looking more into the elderflower and using the flower, rather than the berry seems to be more of a European thing. I have a book here on making liqueurs and it only talks about the berries. But, there are recipes for making elderflower liqueur online, which involve cutting the stems and flowers and placing them in some kind of grain alcohol.

        Elderberries are very plentiful here and my mom makes some kind of preserve with them every year as do a lot of our family friends. It’s a very common thing to do here. That’s why I’m surprised that no one does anything with the flowers – not tea or anything that I know of.

Leave a Reply

